All News

Today, Flint Energies Foundation awarded a total of a quarter of a million dollars in grants to 25 local law enforcement departments at an appreciation luncheon held at the Co-op’s Headquarters in Reynolds. The grants, which were $10,000 each, are to assist the departments with their public safety efforts and can be used for training and to purchase protective equipment or other necessary items.

Of the 25 law enforcement agencies that received grants, nine of those were sheriff’s offices:

  • Crawford County Sheriff’s Office
  • Houston County Sheriff’s Office
  • Macon County Sheriff's Office
  • Marion County Sheriff’s Office
  • Muscogee County Sheriff's Office
  • Peach County Sheriff's Office
  • Schley County Sheriff's Office
  • Talbot County Sheriff’s Office
  • Taylor County Sheriff’s Office

Also, 16 police departments received grants:

  • Buena Vista Police Department
  • Butler Police Department
  • Byron Police Department
  • Centerville Police Department
  • Columbus Police Department
  • Ellaville Police Department
  • Fort Valley Police Department
  • Ideal Police Department
  • Marshallville Police Department
  • Montezuma Police Department
  • Oglethorpe Police Department
  • Perry Police Department
  • Reynolds Police Department
  • Roberta Police Department
  • Talbotton Police Department
  • Warner Robins Police Department

“Flint Energies’ mission is not just to provide electricity, but to improve the quality of life for our Consumer-members and the communities we serve, and that begins with public safety,” says Marian McLemore, Flint’s Vice President of Cooperative Communications.

“We appreciate our local law enforcement agencies and the work that our officers do to keep our communities safe. The Flint Energies Foundation wanted to express our deep appreciation through the grants given today,” says Joanne Hamlin, Flint Foundation Chairman.

About Operation Round Up and Flint Energies Foundation

The Flint Energies Foundation provides grants to local non-profits by using money donated by Flint Energies Consumer-members through Operation Round Up. The electric cooperative’s Members contribute $177,000 annually to the Flint Energies Foundation, which supports worthy causes in the 17 counties it serves. Operation Round Up is a way for participating Members to support multiple charitable organizations by simply allowing Flint Energies to round up their bills to the nearest dollar. Donations to Operation Round Up, which average only about $6 per year per Member, are tax deductible. About 40% of Flint’s Members have chosen to participate, but those numbers are declining. If you are a Flint Energies Consumer-member and wish to contribute, you can sign up at under the My Community section or by calling 1.800.342.3616.

The Flint Energies Foundation, a state-chartered, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, disburses all contributions to approved projects; Member contributions are not used for administration costs. Foundation Board members include Chairman Joanne Hamlin, Lizella; Vice Chairman Eloise Doty, Butler; Secretary Connie McCutchen, Midland; Treasurer John Luppino, Warner Robins; Gina Fink, Kathleen; Charles Harrison, Grovania; Pat Bartness, Warner Robins; Traci Kemp, Warner Robins; Roger Sinyard, Mauk; Betty Chase, Oglethorpe; and Ian Russell, Fort Valley.

Charitable non-profits can request a funding application by contacting Flint Energies at 1.800.342.3616 or visiting the My Community section of to download.